Skip to content

Did you know about the creative beats behind the Velvet Underground?

July 9, 2017

I Wanna Be Creative!

If you like and respect creative artists who do things differently – you’ll probably love the music of The Velvet Underground.

A band we formed at Queensland University, Eugene and the Egg, is adding Velvet Underground songs to our repertoire – partly in celebration of the 50-th anniversary of the debut album, and largely because the songs just feel so good to play.

egg 80s

I only ‘got into’ The Velvets in my impressionable university years in the 80s. I loved how their music seemed ‘accessible’ – as in you didn’t have to be an incredibly gifted and accomplished musician to play it. Well, it sounded that way anyway!

TB VU

Also, I loved Lou Reed’s lyrics. He was an English Major at Syracuse university I believe – and I thought he and the band were so cool with their ‘sunglasses on stage’ look – and I later found the band wore sunglasses on…

View original post 199 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

