Skip to content

Advanced #writing techniques to move your audience – the power of taste and contrast

January 4, 2017

I Wanna Be Creative!

These tips will help you improve your writing.

  1. harness the power of taste
  2. show contrasts

This post is inspired by the fine lyrics of  journalist and lyricist HERBERT KRETZMER   and his English  lyrics to one of the songs he wrote with Charles Aznavour song- ‘Yesterday When I was Young”.

Taste

I love the opening line:

Yesterday when I was young

the taste of life was sweet as rain upon my tongue

This lyric triggers the sense memory of rain upon my tongue and triggers an image. Also, it reminds me of a photo of my son enjoying tasting rain upon his tongue! To me this is a powerful lyric.

o-raincoatContrast

Then at the end of the song – the lyric comes back to taste – but it’s a very contrasting taste – the bitter taste of tears upon my tongue. This contrasts the sweetness of youth and the bitterness…

View original post 183 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

