Skip to content

How a rainy day creative project became a wonderful Scrabble adventure

January 28, 2013

rain scrabble

It’s been raining for days in Brisbane – neighbour’s trees uprooted and their fence damaged.

fallen tree smashed fence

Kids going feral – time for some creative thinking to keep them occupied.

My son  and daughter both love playing Scrabble (Junior). My son also loves creative projects – coming up with creative ideas and looking at funny stuff on the internet.

So, after so many Scrabble games – time for a Scrabble-inspired adventure!

Our mission is to come up with cool food and gifts (merchandise) for scrabble fans.

It’ll give me a break from getting my butt whipped by the kids in Scrabble! 🙂

The positive side of being a word nerd

I’m a bit of a word nerd and I love that my kids love Scrabble and creativity too!

First, we look at the Scrabble tiles.

C scrabble

What are their “properties”?

They are square “tiles” with letters on them and Yellow. I know there are also wooden sets – but ours is yellow!

First I ask my 8-year-old son Orlando:

How else could we use “tiles”? He remembers a cool photo I showed him on Facebook of a Star Wars tiled bathroom – and he says you could have a bathroom with some Scrabble tiles for Scrabble fans.

star wars tiles

What about cool Scrabble Merchandise?

Then we try come up with some ideas for scrabble merch. I know there is already a lot of Scrabble mercy and some of “our ideas” may already exist.

Remember – this is  just for a fun, creative exercise today we are trying to come up with ideas. Also, don;t worry about the legalities of licensing and using the Scrabble name – it’s just a creative game to see where our creativity takes us!

scrabble merch

Scrabble yellow post it notes – I come up with – square and yellow.

Scrabble square drink coasters – adds Orlando.

scrabble coasters

We look around at items that are either yellow or square-ish of both and come up with:

– Scrabble cutting boards – bright yellow of course!

-Scrabble kitchen sponges – and (by extension) bath sponges

– Scrabble place mats

scrabble merch1

A game where you have to scramble and snatch the best letters first – says Orlando – Scrabble Scramble!

What about some cool Scrabble food I ask. We both love food-related creative projects.

The obvious is Scrabbled Eggs – they are yellow – maybe just usual scrambled eggs with some little toasty squares that look like Scrabble letters!

Scrabble chocolate – suggests Orlando.

Scrabble ravioli – square pasta – I contribute. I know the letters might come off when you boil it – but that’s a concern for the technical guys in the lab we joke!

ravioli

Scrabble toast – I say (impressed with my own idea) – Square toast – yellow cheese – and something to create letters. Haven’t worked out the last bit yet!

We later have fun searching on the internet to see if these things already exists – and finding lots of cool stuff.

There are obviously lots of Scrabble fans out there – trying to create Scrabble-themed treats.

Here’s some of the cool stuff we found:

Scrabble “cookies”

scrabble-cookies-4

This is on a fun site – Not Quite Nigella – I imagine letters are still to be put on.

http://www.notquitenigella.com

If I hadn’t done this creative exercise – I never would have found this awesome site – I will now be frequenting!

Worth checking out – great photos that will have you drooling like Homer Simpson!

There’s another idea – the Homer Simpson scrabble set – only 3 letters – D O and H!

And – wait for it – this is soooo cool – Scrabble crackers!

SunshineCheezItScrabbleJuniorCrackers_24531

I didn’t even know these  scrabble crackers existed. Imagine the educational value – creating words then eating them. Wonder if you can get them in Australia!

Also, you can imagine my delight when I found there already is Scrabble Chocolate!

The days just keeps getting getter and better!

chocscrabble

Wow – this rainy day turned out to be not so bad after all. Thank you children for your creative ideas. Thank you Scrabble and thank you Internet!!!

So who is writing this?

Hi, I’m Tony Biancotti and I can help you harness your creativity and hook attention with lots of tips from everyday life for  boosting creativity and hooking attention in everyday situations.

The positive side of being a word nerd

I can also help you improve your presentations and business writing.

I can share with you practical and easy-to-apply tips I’ve gathered over many years working as a:

  • TV journalist
  • political speechwriter
  • lawyer
  • blogger
  • musician and performer
  • coach and trainer in persuasionpositive messagespresenting and better e-mail and business writing.
  • and YES I’m a big Bono fan do and I like to help good causes for free with an offering called Pro Bono Bono.http://probonobono.wordpress.com/about/

You can contact me on tonybiancotti@ozemail.com.au    or on Linked In or Facebook. Tony is of course short for Anthony .

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

