Skip to content

Champine – Creativity with a Queensland twist

September 11, 2012

Don’t you love it when people combine different things to make something “original”?

On Sunday I went to see Dave Graney play at the Brisbane Writers Festival and he was playing at a place called The Pineapple Lounge – which happens to contain two of my favourite words  – Pineapple and Lounge (as in lounge music!)

As you can see, I’m a huge fan of the Pineapple. Maybe it was the childhood trips to the Big Pineapple on the Sunshine Coast.

Maybe it was the Elvis Movie  – Blue Hawaii where Elvis’s dad ran a Pineapple plantation.

mmmmm – Love Pineapple cocktails. I blame watching too many episodes of Gilligan’s Island. Where’s the coconut cream pie!

Anyway, I always loved the Tiki lounge “associations” of the Pineapple – so you can imagine how The Pineapple Lounge felt like “heaven”!

Tiki and Pineapple shirt – tastefully subtle!

One dude was even in a pineapple-patterned vest. I think he was part of The Pineapple Lounge!

On the evening of the Writers Festival the place was packed with arty, creative types chilling with a friendly, warm and laid-back Queensland vibe – not the rather chilled “we’re so cool and aloof” Sydney Vibe I’ve been used to for the last decade or so. Don’t get me wrong – I dig the Sydney scene – but I was so happy to find this Bris-vegas vibe that seemed to embrace a colourful dagginess!

Maybe the crowd’s “friendliness” was fueled by a concoction – cleverly called “Champine”.

When I told my 8-year-old son about the clever word play of Champine (he wasn’t at the evening) – my son asked if the DJ played Champine Showers!

I was so into the Lounge Music scene in Sydney around ’96. Maybe Bris-vegas has just caught up. Maybe it’s ahead of a resurgence! Whatever the answer – it’s great to see a colourful creative scene – fuelled not by Absinthe but by Champine!

P.S. According to the Urban Dictionary: Champine means winner or Champion.

define.php?term=champine

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on I Wanna Be Creative! and commented:

    An earlier post that recently popped back up on my radar. Glad it did! Good memories of trying a champine!

Leave a Reply

